Vertebral Column

The vertebral column is divided into five major regions as shown below. As you examine the orientation of the vertebrae try to determine if there is a consistent pattern to the manner in which they articulate. Also try to find differences that help distinguish vertebrae from the different regions. Note that the transitional vertebrae have some of the characteristics of both regions and are more difficult to distinguish. Before examining the vertebrae from the different regions you may want to review the structure of a typical vertebra.
  Cervical (7) Thoracic (13) Lumbar (7)
Sacrum (3 fused)

Caudal (21-23)

Back to tutorial